数字中国 *

开发新的数字方法,研究中国过去和现在。

随着数字研究在学术界日益突出,数字技术为中国研究提供了一系列新的方法。

2016年,费正清中心通过东亚语言与文明系,在费正清中心博士后研究员唐纳德的教导下,举办了首届"中国研究数字方法"(CHNSHIS 202)学分研究生研讨会。 opens in a new window外科医生.本课程涵盖数字资源的有效利用、编程技术(重点是数据准备和提取、文本分析和主题建模以及复杂数据集的可视化)。

2016-17年,该中心将安王博士后奖学金授予中国数字人文社会科学,并授予唐纳德·斯特龙,从而进一步致力于数字人文和社会科学。2017-2018年,通过博士后奖学金继续关注数字中国,安王博士后研究员阿美拉·英琴专注于中国文学作品的数字方法和定量分析。

此外,费正清中心还支持哈佛大学的一些数字数据库项目,这些项目推广与中国相关的开源数字材料。这些数据库包括彼得·博尔教授领导的 opens in a new window中国传记数据库项目和 opens in a new window中国历史地理信息系统。这些项目与美国和大中华区的合作伙伴合作。

专业知识

包弼德
包弼德

包弼德

高级教育副教务长;东亚语言文明Charles H Carswell教授

作为副教务长,包弼德负责HarvardX项目、HILT教学创新项目以及学习科学的研究。包弼德与柯伟林一起教授 ChinaX (SW12x)这门受全球学生关注的哈佛课程 阅读更多

研究项目

数字中国博士后奖学金
Since 2014, the Fairbank Center has supported digital humanities and social sciences through postdoctoral fellowships, including our 王安博士后奖学金.以往专注于中国研究数字方法的博士后研究员包括:

2014-2015: opens in a new window保罗·维尔塔勒, 安王博士后研究员 

保罗·维尔塔勒的研究主要集中在明末清初的文学表现、晚帝国版画文化和历史、流派分析和作者研究。他的研究将紧密阅读和传统批判性分析与自然语言处理、语料库语言学、机器学习和非结构化/结构化数据分析相结合。

2015-2017:唐纳德·斯图尔特,2015-2016 数字人文社会科学博士后研究员, 2016-2017 安王博士后研究员

唐纳德·斯特龙的研究项目"大数据与早期中国:古典汉语的辅助解释"开发并评估了分析前现代中国文献内容及其与大型文献关系的全自动方法现存的近代中国写作体。

2017-2018: 阿美拉·英琴,安王博士后研究员

Amelia Ying 秦的研究包括传闻叙述、比吉(毛笔画)和传统印刷文化。她在费正清中心的项目包括通过定量分析对大约三千件趣闻进行远程阅读,目的是将结果可视化并融入到一本书的手稿中。

中文研究课程的数字方法
费正清中心支持学分课程,CHNSHIS 202:中国研究的数字方法。本课程由哈佛大学东亚语言与文明系和历史系提供,并受 唐纳德·斯特金博士,前 王安 博士后研究员 (2015-2017)在费正清中心。

本课程以保罗·维尔塔勒博士和安东尼·鲁齐博士开办的早期"数字中国实验室"研讨会为基础,向中国研究的研究生介绍编程技能和与研究相关的数字人文技术。学科。它包括每周的讲座,每个讲座介绍一种特定的技术类型,然后是一个互动的实验室会议,在此期间,学生练习将该技术应用于适合自己研究的数据。没有数字方法或编程的背景,但学生应具备基本的计算技能,并且需要携带合适的笔记本电脑在实验期间使用。

本课程涵盖的技术都广泛适用于中国研究的题目,学生应按前几节的安排,将其应用于自己的研究课题和相关文本。课程以学生演示结束,学生将所研究的技术适当选择应用于自己的研究问题。虽然示例和课程将借鉴中文源材料,但鼓励主要使用其他东亚语言的学生参加本课程。

有关课程的问题,请访问 Canvas 上的课程网站,或联系唐纳德·斯特龙博士 (sturgeon@fas.harvard.edu)。

Read more about this course on the Fairbank Center Blog:  opens in a new windowHow to Teach Digital Methods for Chinese Studies, where Donald Sturgeon explains how to build a digital humanities course for Chinese Studies. 

数字中国倡议研讨会
费正清中心支持定期举办的研讨会系列,研究中国研究中的数字方法。去年 阿米莉亚·英琴,2017-2018 安王博士后研究员主持了一次研讨会,讨论不同的数字技术及其在人文和社会科学学术研究中的应用。

请尽快回来查看有关费正清中心即将举办的数字方法研讨会的信息。

数据库项目
opens in a new window哈佛地理分析中心 

哈佛地理分析中心 (HCGA) 使用 GIS 和其他数字技术来可视化数据集。HCGA 与中国相关的项目包括:

opens in a new window中国传记数据库项目

The opens in a new windowChina Biographical Database is a freely accessible relational database with biographical information about approximately 417,000 individuals as of 八月 2017, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries. With both online and offline versions, the data is meant to be useful for statistical, social network, and spatial analysis as well as serving as a kind of biographical reference. The development of CBDB is now a joint project of the Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies, the Institute of History and Philology of Academia Sinica, and the Center for Research on Ancient Chinese History at Peking University.

opens in a new window中国历史地理信息系统工程

opens in a new window中国历史地理信息系统(CHGIS)于2001年1月启动,旨在建立公元前221年至1911年中国历史时期人口密集场所和历史行政单位数据库。CHGIS 为研究人员提供了一个基础 opens in a new windowGIS平台,可用于空间分析、时间统计建模以及将所选历史单位表示为数字地图。

opens in a new window中文文本项目

费正清中心2016-2017年王安博士后研究员唐纳德·斯图尔特创建并维护了 opens in a new window中国文本项目,这是一个备受尊敬的学者学术资源。斯特瑞格博士于2005年开始了他的项目,将该网站开发为研究早期中国文学的资源。此后,他创建了全自动程序,用于准确识别和可视化早期中文文本中的并行段落,并为中文传输文本设计全自动 OCR 系统。到目前为止,该系统已应用于超过1000万页的前现代中文文本。

最新消息

2018-2019: 哈佛大学中国研究年度回顾

在此处阅读并下载我们的 2018-2019 年年度报告。 2018-19学年对于我们所有人来说都是一个充满挑战的 费正清 致力于中国研究的中心。美中双边关系继续恶化,几乎没有什么...

阅读更多
费正清中国研究中心

Digital China

Developing and deploying new digital methods for the study of China’s past and present.

As digital research becomes increasingly prominent in academia, digital techniques provide a range of new approaches to Chinese Studies.

In 2016, the Fairbank Center launched its first for-credit graduate seminar “Digital Methods in Chinese Studies” (CHNSHIS 202) through the Department of East Asian Languages and Civilizations, instructed by Fairbank Center post-doctoral fellow Donald Sturgeon. The course covers effective use of digital resources, programming techniques with an emphasis on data preparation and extraction, textual analysis and topic modeling, and the visualization of complex datasets.

In 2016-17, the Center furthered its commitment to the digital humanities and social sciences by dedicating an An Wang Postdoctoral Fellowship to Chinese digital humanities and social sciences, which was awarded to Donald Sturgeon. This focus on digital China through a postdoctoral fellowship continues, with 2017-2018 An Wang Postdoctoral Fellow Ameila Ying Qin focusing on digital methods and quantitative analysis in Chinese literary works.

At the Fairbank Center, Amelia Ying Qin runs a regular workshop series that teaches and examines digital methods in Chinese Studies. Check for information about upcoming workshops on our events calendar.

In addition, the Fairbank Center supports a number of digital database projects at Harvard that promote open source digital materials relating to China. These databases include the China Biographical Database Project led by Professor Peter Bol, and the China Historical Geographic Information System. These projects collaborate with partners across the United States and Greater China.

Expertise

arunabh ghosh
arunabh ghosh

Arunabh Ghosh 郭旭光

Assistant Professor of History

Arunabh Ghosh is a historian of modern China, with research and teaching interests that span the social, economic, and intellectual histories of twentieth century China, transnational histories of science and statecraft, and Sino-Indian history.

Read More
CGIS South | 1730 Cambridge Street | Cambridge MA 02138
Peter Boi
Peter Boi

Peter K. Bol 包弼德

Vice Provost for Advances in Learning; Charles H Carswell Professor of East Asian Languages and Civilizations

As Vice Provost, Peter K. Bol is responsible for HarvardX, the Harvard Initiative in Learning and Teaching, and research on the science of learning. Together with William Kirby, Bol teaches ChinaX (SW12x), a Harvard course that has a global enrollmentRead More

2 Divinity Avenue | Cambridge MA, 02138
Donald Sturgeon
Donald Sturgeon

Donald Sturgeon

College Fellow

Years of Affiliation: Digital Humanities and Social Sciences Postdoctoral Fellow from 2015-2016; An Wang Postdoctoral Fellow from 2016-2017

Donald Sturgeon's research project, "Big Data and Early China: Corpus-Assisted Interpretation of Classical Chinese," develops and evaluates fully automated methods for analyzing theRead More

Research Projects

Postdoctoral Fellowships in Digital China

Since 2014, the Fairbank Center has supported digital humanities and social sciences through postdoctoral fellowships, including our An Wang Postdoctoral Fellowship. Past postdoctoral fellows focusing on digital methods in Chinese Studies include:

2014-2015: Paul Vierthaler, An Wang Postdoctoral Fellow 

Paul Vierthaler’s research focuses on late Ming and early Qing literary representations of recent events, late Imperial print culture and history, genre analysis, and authorship studies. His research incorporates a combination of close reading and traditional critical analysis with natural language processing, corpus linguistics, machine learning and unstructured/structured data analysis.

2015-2017: Donald Sturgeon, 2015-2016 Postdoctoral Fellow in Digital Humanities and Social Sciences, and 2016-2017 An Wang Postdoctoral Fellow

Donald Sturgeon’s research project, “Big Data and Early China: Corpus-Assisted Interpretation of Classical Chinese,” develops and evaluates fully automated methods for analyzing the contents of pre-modern Chinese documents and their relation to a large existing corpus of pre-modern Chinese writing.

2017-2018: Ameila Ying Qin, An Wang Postdoctoral Fellow

Amelia Ying Qin’s research includes anecdotal narratives, biji (brush jottings), and traditional print culture. Her project at the Fairbank Center includes performing distant reading of around three thousand anecdotes through quantitative analysis, with the goal of visualizing and incorporating her results into a book manuscript.

Digital Methods for Chinese Studies Course

The Fairbank Center supports the for-credit course offering, CHNSHIS 202: Digital Methods for Chinese Studies. This course is offered through Harvard’s East Asian Languages and Civilizations Department and History Department, and is instructed by Dr. Donald Sturgeon, a former An Wang Postdoctoral Fellow (2015 to 2017) at the Fairbank Center.

Building on our earlier “Digital China Lab” workshop run by Dr. Paul Vierthaler and Dr. Anthony Ruozzi, this course introduces graduate students in Chinese studies to programming skills and digital humanities techniques of practical relevance to research in their discipline. It consists of weekly lectures, each introducing a specific type of technique, followed by an interactive lab session during which students practice applying the technique to data appropriate to their own research. No background in digital methods or programming is assumed, but students are expected to have basic computing skills and are required to bring a suitable laptop to use during the lab sessions.

The techniques covered in this course all have broad applicability to topics in Chinese studies, and students are expected to apply them to their own research topics and relevant texts as arranged during the first few sessions. The course ends with student presentations in which students apply an appropriate selection of the techniques studied to their own research questions. While examples and coursework will draw upon Chinese language source materials, students primarily working with other East Asian languages are also encouraged to take this course.

For questions regarding the course, please visit the course site on Canvas, or contact Dr. Donald Sturgeon (sturgeon@fas.harvard.edu).

Read more about this course on the Fairbank Center Blog: How to Teach Digital Methods for Chinese Studies, where Donald Sturgeon explains how to build a digital humanities course for Chinese Studies. 

Digital China Initiative Workshop

The Fairbank Center supports a regular workshop series that examines digital methods in Chinese Studies. Hosted by Amelia Ying Qin, a 2017-2018 An Wang Postdoctoral Fellow, the workshop addresses different digital techniques and their application to scholarly research in the humanities and social sciences.

The workshop is open to the public, but prior registration is required. Please email Amelia Ying Qin at ying_qin@fas.harvard.edu for more information.

Database Projects
Harvard Center for Geographic Analysis 

The Harvard Center for Geographic Analysis (HCGA) employs GIS and other digital techniques to visualize datasets. HCGA’s China-related projects include:

China Biographical Database Project (CBDB)

The China Biographical Database is a freely accessible relational database with biographical information about approximately 417,000 individuals as of August 2017, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries. With both online and offline versions, the data is meant to be useful for statistical, social network, and spatial analysis as well as serving as a kind of biographical reference. The development of CBDB is now a joint project of the Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies, the Institute of History and Philology of Academia Sinica, and the Center for Research on Ancient Chinese History at Peking University.

China Historical Geographic Information System Project (CHGIS)

The China Historical Geographic Information System, CHGIS, project was launched in January 2001 to establish a database of populated places and historical administrative units for the period of Chinese history between 221 BCE and 1911 CE. CHGIS provides a base GIS platform for researchers to use in spatial analysis, temporal statistical modeling, and representation of selected historical units as digital maps.

Chinese Text Project

The Fairbank Center’s 2016-2017 An Wang Postdoctoral Fellow, Donald Sturgeon, created and maintains the Chinese Text Project, a highly respected academic resource for scholars. Dr. Sturgeon began his project in 2005, developing the site as a resource for the study of early Chinese literature. He has since created fully automated procedures for accurately identifying and visualizing parallel passages in early Chinese text as well as designing a fully automated OCR system for Chinese transmitted texts. Thus far, the system has been applied to over 10 million pages of pre-modern Chinese texts.

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.

Publications

Latest News

Fall 2018 Courses on China

FRESHMEN SEMINAR FRSEMR 70L: Ancient East Asia: Contested Archaeologies of China, Korea and Japan Rowan Flad How is our understanding of the past determined or framed by the concerns of the present? This course considers this problem with a focus on East Asia. In the...

read more

Fairbank Center Talks at AAS 2018

The 2018 Association for Asian Studies Annual Conference is in Washington D.C. this year, and as usual the Fairbank Center will be well-represented on a wide-range of panels. Below are panels featuring our faculty and current Harvard Ph.D. Candidates working on China,...

read more
Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies